Tuesday, August 24, 2010

"Race to the Top" Winners Announced Today

North Carolina is a Winner !!!

According to CNN the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, and Rhode Island are all to receive a portion of the $3.4 billion remaining in the "Race to the Top" fund for education. The second round of competition began with 35 states applying and in July 19 states were listed as finalists. Each finalist sent representatives to Washington in August to present their case, according to CNN.

What did each state have to do to qualify for "Race to the Top"? Each state had to present a plan of school reforms in four main areas:
  1. Turning around low performing schools
  2. Adopting college and career ready standard
  3. Effective teachers and principals
  4. Using data systems to support student achievement

So how will $3.4 billion be divided between the states? There is a limit how much money each state can receive based on the student population and North Carolina will receive $400 million. For North Carolina the "Race to the Top" money will be overseen by Dr. Harrison and the State Board, and Superintendent Atkinson will be responsible for implementing the approved program according to Governor Bev Perdue's press release.

The link below gives the breakdown of money for each state:

Other related links
  1. Charlotte WCNC.com
  2. North Carolina Race to the Top Website
  3. Race to the Top Announcement from President Obama
  4. Governor Bev Perdue's Press Release

No comments: